This week’s manicure: Essie Gel Net Worth + Opi Gelcolor In True Stefani Fashion

I’ve been using Opi Gelcolors and Sephora by Opi Gelshines for my at-home gel manicures. This was my first time using Essie’s gel line and I was curious to see how it stacked up.

Net Worth is a robin’s egg blue similar to the color of a Tiffany’s box (though I don’t have one handy to compare to). The photograph on the left is much closer to what the color looks like in person. The formula for this particular color was not quite as pigmented as I was expecting and I had to layer four thin coats to get an opaque look. The color isn’t very flattering on my skin tone but I still like it. I’ll update this page with any notes on wear.

This was also my first time using In True Stefani Fashion and I was a little disappointed with it. I absolutely adore Which is Witch. The holo glitters in it are really packed in but lightweight and one coat is all you need for a gorgeous top layer of glitter. But the glitter in In True Stefani Fashion is a bit heavier so it was a challenge to scoop it out and apply it to my nail. There *are* square holo glitters in the bottle but I wasn’t able to get much of it on my nails. I haven’t decided if I’m going to keep this or swap it away. I’ll give it another chance.

I used Sephora by Opi’s base and top coats and their lamp to cure the polishes.

Let me know what you think about the mani! I can’t wait to try out the rest of the Essies in the coming weeks!

UPDATE: This gel manicure lasted a week on me before it started chipping. That is unheard of wear for me – I’m really hard on my nails. I can get two hours of wear out of a professionally applied gel manicure but undoubtedly my lack of skill means my at home manis are not as bulletproof. One reason I’ve started this blog is that I hope that my upgrade my skills and that by the end of 2014, I can do gel manis that last two weeks or gel sandwiches (with regular polish layered between gels) that last one week!

image image

4 thoughts on “This week’s manicure: Essie Gel Net Worth + Opi Gelcolor In True Stefani Fashion

Leave a Reply

